Recipe: Flapjacks

Idly flipping through the pages of the March Bon Appetit, I happened upon this recipe for British Flapjacks, a cookie vaguely resembling Rice Krispie Treats in technique and granola bars in results. But don’t mistake me, they’re the most delicious granola bars I can imagine–and I don’t even like granola bars. Since butter, sugar, and quick-cook oats are things we always have on hand, I figured it wouldn’t hurt to try Flapjacks. We expected to pick up some golden syrup at the Woodstock Safeway (which actually has a British aisle), but that didn’t happen. Instead, I substituted molasses with dark corn syrup to thin it slightly (if you go all-molasses, be careful: the cookies will be much, much harder; corn syrup keeps them somewhat soft by preventing the sugar from crystallizing). For a more interesting texture, you can sub half the quick-cook oats for regular old-fashioned oats.

British Flapjacks (aka Scotties)

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) salted butter, cut into 8 pieces
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup golden syrup*
  • 2 1/3 cups quick-cooking oats
*If you cannot find golden syrup, use 1/8 cup molasses with 1/8 cup dark corn syrup.

One response to “Recipe: Flapjacks

  1. I miss you and I’m going to try these this weekend!
    xo

Leave a comment