Pumpkin Pie

Schatzi: There are myriad pumpkin pie recipes out there, but I usually just rely on the recipe on the Libby’s can label. If it’s not broken, and so on. I do alter it slightly, however. For one, I prefer some brown sugar in my pies, and tend to use it in conjunction with or instead of white granulated sugar. I also add a few more spices, such as ginger and allspice. Some might feel the allspice redundant since it is generally equated to cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves, but it’s got more depth than that, and should be used more often, I think. Use whatever pie crust you feel best here; most people have one they prefer, after all. But I do suggest using metal pie pans for custardy pies like pumpkin.
I generally bake the pumpkin pie a couple of days ahead, so that it can be eaten for breakfast on Thanksgiving Day. That’s how I was raised, and I love the taste of pumpkin pie in the morning, smothered with whipped cream. As Bill Cosby once famously pointed out about chocolate cake, it’s got eggs, butter, and milk–plus, pumpkin is a vegetable!

Pumpkin Pie

  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp allspice
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp cloves
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 (15 oz) can pumpkin
  • 1 (12 oz) can evaporated milk
  • pie crust
  1. Preheat oven to 425.
  2. Combine sugars and spices in a small bowl; set aside. In a large bowl, beat eggs. Add sugar spice mixture and pumpkin, and using a whisk, thoroughly combine.
  3. Pour into crust on baking sheet; bake at 425 for 10 minutes, and reduce heat to 375. Continue baking for 40 to 50 minutes, or until a knife inserted close to the center comes out clean. Remove from baking sheet and cool completely on wire rack.

Leave a comment