Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Cake

Schatzi: Someone on a forum I frequent was looking for a pumpkin chocolate chip cake, and some of the other members suggested to him that I would be a good resource. Now, I’d never made one before, but I was willing to try out a recipe or two to help an IFHYer out, so I looked around online. I found a few that seemed promising, and decided upon this one from the New York Times. Instead of a frosted layer cake, however, I decided to alter the recipe slightly for a Bundt pan, feeling that would take a little less effort for a novice baker. I also added a smidgen of vanilla, and I might try it again with brown sugar instead of all white. I left out the pecans this time since my roommate is allergic to tree nuts, and because they’re hellav expensive right now, and I need to hoard the ones I’ve got for pecan pie.
The resulting cake was spicy, moist, and delicious. It hasn’t even been around for twenty-four hours and it’s almost gone. Eli is having a hard time restraining himself.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Cake

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Cake

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Cake

  • 8 tablespoons (1 stick) soft unsalted butter, more for greasing
  • 2 cups flour, more for dusting
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon allspice
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1-1/2 cups granulated sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1-1/2 cup plain pumpkin purée, canned, frozen or fresh
  • 1 cup Hershey’s Special Dark chocolate chips
  • 1 cup chopped pecans
  1. Heat oven to 325 degrees. Use a little butter to grease Bundt pan, then flour. Whisk together flour, spices, baking soda, baking powder and salt in a large bowl.
  2. Cream butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs one at a time, then stir in pumpkin and vanilla. Mixture may look slightly curdled when thoroughly combined. Add flour mixture about half a cup at a time, stirring until smooth. Then fold in chocolate chips and pecans.
  3. Pour batter into pans and bake in middle of oven until springy to the touch and a tester inserted in center comes out clean, about 45-50 minutes. Cool cake in pan for 10 minutes, then invert onto rack. Let cake cool completely. Glaze if desired.
3 responses to “Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Cake

  1. i effing love this cake. so so good.

  2. womanofworship

    i will make it and i know I will love it . . chocolate is my favorite especially in the morning!5am!
    womanofworship.com

  3. This may be the single best fall dessert that I have ever had. I make it 5 or 6 times during october and november.

Leave a Reply

