Recipe: Tangy Apricot Frozen Yogurt

Homemade Tangy Apricot Fro-Yo

Homemade Tangy Apricot Fro-Yo

Schatzi: I haven’t eaten much frozen yogurt since my Eighties childhood, when the TCBY craze swept the nation. When they built the new shopping center in Mililani, the one with the Star Market and Cookie Corner, they put in a TCBY, too. As a treat, my mother would often take me to the TCBY, where I always ordered the same thing: a waffle cone sundae with hot fudge and colored jimmies, no nuts. The flavors of yogurt I picked varied with their offerings, but I never wanted anything else. Frozen yogurt is back, but with a difference; places like Pinkberry and Portlan’d own Pop Culture–among others–have ushered in a new era of frozen yogurt, one with a tangier yogurt flavor than the soft-serve TCBY standard. And that’s not a bad thing.    

As an engagement/Christmas present, Jon & Maiya gave us one of their ice cream makers (they received an excess of them as wedding gifts), which we thought was great. After all, who doesn’t love ice cream? We’ve had many big plans for it, but had not gotten around to christening it, despite Eli’s conscientiously placing the freezing bowl in the freezer back in December. After perusing last month’s Sunset, though, I was finally inspired to make some fro-yo for myself.

Eli had brought home some lovely apricots a few days before, which he’d then poached with a little sugar, emulating the delicious fruits we ate at Beast. The apricots made great pancake topping, but I used some for my yogurt with great success. I’m eager to try it again, but with different fruit purees, or even preserves. Malia uses her home-canned peaches and syrup for a Peaches n’ Cream variety, which sounds outstanding. The whole process took about thirty-five minutes: five minutes to mix everything up and pull the ice cream maker off the shelf, and thirty minutes in the ice cream maker. It was smooth, soft, and creamy right out of the Cuisinart, but I popped it in the freezer for a bit to harden up. Tragically, I’m about to finish the last of it today, but I may demand that Eli bring me more yogurt on his way home.

Tangy Apricot Frozen Yogurt

  • 32 oz container plain yogurt (I used Mountain High’s lowfat)
  • 1/2 cup sugar (to taste)
  • 2/3-1 cup poached apricots and syrup
  1. Whisk together yogurt, sugar, and fruit.
  2. Follow your ice cream maker’s directions.

From June 2009 Sunset.

Leave a Reply

