What We Ate: Pastries from Petite Provence

poppyseed pastry and fruit pinwheels from La Petite Provence

poppyseed pastry and fruit pinwheels from La Petite Provence

Schatzi: A year or two before she died, my mother and my Aunt Joan began having brunch at La Provence in Lake Oswego. They raved about it, particularly the eggs Benedict, one of my favorite breakfast dishes, so when I had the opportunity to accompany them there, I took it. I was rewarded with some of the best eggs Benedict I have ever eaten, with beautiful Hollandaise and perfectly poached eggs atop a croissant, and served with tasty fried potatoes. We went there pretty regularly, and so when I returned from Eugene and found myself living at SE 36th & Division, you can imagine my delight when La Petite Provence opened right at 48th & Division!

The menus are slightly different at each location, but I can still find my favorite eggs Benedict, and I have also become a devotee of their utterly amazing tuna melt. But enough about the breakfast, lunch, and brunch entrees which I will assuredly photograph and post about at some other juncture!

chocolate croissants from La Petite Provence

chocolate croissants from La Petite Provence

Eli and I have also gotten in the habit of trying different pastries from their wide bakery selection whenever we’re in (chocolate eclairs? word!), and have found them all to be delightful. Personal favorites are the chocolate croissants, which feature a thick band of semi-sweet chocolate that far outshines any other such pastry I have tried (with the usual puny chocolate thread inside and weak drizzle atop). This time, Eli also picked us out some fruit pinwheels and a poppyseed pastry, and they were all delightful. Check out La Provence (or Petite Provence)’s bakery the next time you need a French pasty fix.

La Petite Provence
4834 SE Division
Portland, OR 97206
(503) 233-1121
www.provence-portland.com

2 responses to “What We Ate: Pastries from Petite Provence

  1. La Provence is my absolute favorite go-to place. I have yet to have a bad meal Glad you put this up!

  2. Pingback: la petit provence portland oregon | cindy lafayette greene

Leave a Reply

