Sweet Potato Pie

Schatzi: My first ever taste of sweet potato pie was Thanksgiving 2006. I had to work at the lol-iday inn that night (luckily, only for a short shift), and had had an abbreviated dinner over at Maiya’s. When E-Money came in to start her graveyard shift, she was kind enough to bring me a plate she had made up for me at her grandmother’s dinner, a plate that included a slice of sweet potato pie. Although everything I ate on that plate was delicious, the pie was a revelation. And I vowed that I would one day bake sweet potato pies.

I found my recipe on Saveur (you’re shocked, I know) while idly clicking through various holiday desserts. Though intrigued by the Sweet Potato Cobbler, I wanted a traditional pie recipe to begin by odyssey. (Sadly, E-Money has since relocated, and I have a hard time getting a hold of her, or I would have simply demanded her grandmother’s recipe.) The resulting pie was rich and delicious (Eli’s favorite pie of the day), and I’ll definitely be baking it again.

Sadly, since it was the last pie to bake (during Thanksgiving dinner), I forgot to take a picture of the sweet potato pie before it was devoured.

Sweet Potato Pie

  • 1 lb sweet potatoes (about 2 medium tubers)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1⁄2 cups milk
  • 4 tbsp butter, melted and cooled
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1⁄2 tsp cloves
  • 1 1⁄2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1⁄2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1⁄4 tsp salt
  1. Preheat oven to 400°. Roast sweet potatoes in oven until tender, about  45-60 minutes, depending on size. Let cool enough to skin, then mash, and measure out 1 12 cups.
  2. While sweet potatoes cool, prepare a crust in a 9-inch glass pie pan. Preheat oven to 450°.
  3. In a large bowl, whisk together everything else until well combined. Add sweet potatoes, and beat until smooth. Pour minxture into unbaked 9″ pie shell. Bake for 15 minutes, then lower temperature to 350° and bake an additional 20–25 minutes until set. Cool on a rack completely before cutting.
Leave a Reply

