had to get away: Chicken Vesuvio

I happened across Chicken Vesuvio when looking for a recipe my mother used to make, one that I cannot find anywhere. She’d mix up lemon juice (I think), white wine, and herbs with a whole mess of chicken parts–sometimes all drumsticks–and we’d eat them cold or hot with a combination of things for about a week. They were delicious, those chicken parts. I’d love to eat them again, but I just haven’t seen anything like it. This is a completely different dish, however.

This was another dish for camping, one that would be easy to make and could be cooked in my Dutch oven. I figure if I’m going to haul something like that around, then I had best get as much use as possible out of it. We forgot to take pictures, but it turned out very nicely. It’s difficult to go wrong with something so simple.

  • 8 chicken thighs
  • 1/2 tsp salt, plus more for seasoning
  • fresh ground black pepper
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 12 garlic cloves, peeled
  • 2 large peeled baking potatoes, each cut into 6-8 wedges
  • 1-1/2 cps white wine (I used a pinot grigio, since that’s what I prefer to drink)
  • 1-1/2 tablespoons dried oregano (I didn’t want to take along fresh; use 3 tablespoons fresh oregano)
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1-1/2 cp frozen green peas
  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. Season chicken pieces with 1/4 tsp salt and the pepper. Heat oil over med-high in a large Dutch oven. Add chicken; cook 3 min on each side, or til browned. Remove chicken from pan.
  3. Add whole garlic cloves to pan; saute 1 minute or til lightly browned. Remove from pan. Add potatoes to pan; saute 6 minutes or til lightly browned. Return chicken and whole cloves to pan, then add remaining salt, wine, oregano, and minced garlic; bring to a simmer.
  4. Cover and bake at 350F for 30 min or until chicken is done and potatoes are tender. Add peas and bake additional 8 mi or until peas are tender.

I think this recipe may have originated in Cooking Light, but it’s been so long, I’m not sure.

Leave a Reply

