sick days

Schatzi: Sorry about the downtime, folks, but I was on the verge of pneumonia for a week or so, and Eli had to take care of me. And by “take care of me,” I mean, “feed me delicious things so I didn’t die.” So in between dosing me with drugs and making me juice, Eli prepared some comfort foods for the sickie.

Eli\'s Chicken and Noodles

Eli's Chicken & Noodles

First up is his own comfort food, Chicken and Noodles, which is essentially a chicken noodle soup without much broth, but what a chicken noodle dish it was! Garlicky and flavorful, it had the best chicken flavor of any commercial or homemade chicken noodle dish I have ever tasted.

Gruyere Souffle

cheese souffle

A personal favorite of mine is Cheese Soufflé, which is made in my family for Christmas morning breakfast, and occasionally my mother would make it for me as a rare treat. We didn’t have her recipes, so he tried Alton Brown’s, using Gruyere instead of Cheddar at my behest. While I think Eli did a great job on his first soufflé, it wasn’t quite as good as my mother’s, so I guess he’ll have to try her recipe next!

Bacon Sausage Biscuits

Bacon Sausage Pigs in a Blanket

A breakfast treat came in the form of pigs in a blanket made from bacon sausage and homemade biscuit dough. These were amazing both fresh from the oven and reheated the next day.

Pineapple Upside Down Cake

pineapple upside down cake

And finally, since I wasn’t up to baking any cakes, Eli made me a Pineapple Upside Down Cake, a nostalgic favorite of ours—and an amazing first try! I’ll try to persuade him to post the recipe this week.

2 responses to “sick days

  1. Pineapple cake?!? Suddenly I am too not feeling so well….*cough* cough*

  2. It was amazing. He ought to bake another so that we can post the recipe.

Leave a Reply

